Brrr…

No, we don’t have a Big Freeze here in Somerset – far from it – but we do have rather an over-abundance of grey skies and damp air and a general impression that this is the dullest, dankest time of year. But there are lots of reasons to be cheerful, even if the salt has settled soggily in the salt cellar!  If you live near the sea, there is nothing quite so bracing as a walk long a windswept beach. Being inland, I contented myself with a struggle along the lane with my arms full of paintings – managing to get them home from the art class in (almost) one piece. Our local hill – Ham Hill – is always fairly blusterous in a storm – most people take their dog up there on a windy day… well, it’s something to hang on to!

In other news, my New Year Resolution of drawing / sketching every day is notable by its omission(s) – but at least I am getting down to sketching more often than I did – and, if things go on this way, the activity should accelerate under its own momentum.

Now I think about it, this photo is worth making into a sketch or a painting – just as soon as I have completed my ‘blackbird cards’ and ‘snowdrops’ series…. Photos of these anon – but here is one to keep you going: (thanks, Kaye Parmenter, for the blackbird tutorial)IMG_4818IMG_3010

About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in painting, sea, Uncategorized, weather, winter. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

