A perfect day

There are some days which stand out in memory as ‘perfect’. Last Tuesday was one.
I rose at 6.30 and watched the sun rise over Flatford Mill on the Suffolk/Essex border.
Painting by 7.30 I tried to capture the early morning light, the reflections on the water, the cascade of blossom on the opposite bank of the river, and the trail through the dew left by three eager ducks.IMG_1097
Later, I wandered across the fields to Dedham – under a perfect blue sky, the air still and the reflections on the water of the river Stour dazzling in their clarity.
IMG_1109

Through the afternoon, the day progressed in perfect harmony with season and nature, ending, placidly, with a sense of completion and quiet joy.
Early the next day, the morning sunlight drew me out again with my paintbox – but now the light was made obscure by the strange Saharan dust. Fragile beauty, soon to be lost as high pressure leached polution from the Continent and spewed it over southern England.
IMG_1133

Such transient beauty is a perfect gift – a jewel, to be observed and delighted in. Its very transience adds to its value. It is a memory treasured, not lost – caught in my mind and, to some extent, captured in my painting. I must go back!

About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in creativity, ducks, holidays, memories, Spring, weather. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A perfect day

  1. Joan Kyler says:

    Your photographs are lovely and your descriptions made me feel calmer. Thank you for sharing a perfect day!

  2. Susan in TX says:

    Love this. We’re having that perfect weather kind of day here today. I just love spring (all 3 weeks of it! 😉 ).

Leave a Reply

