Musings on a winter afternoon

As the rain continues to fall, interspersed with the odd few hours of sunshine, indoor tasks become the focus of my attention. The puppets are now complete:
IMG_0876
Meet Abe and Estee – now headed off to join the ‘Open the Book’ team.

And now I return to the Big Tidy Up – you know, the one which starts with enthusiasm, drags to an end in exhaustion and then begins all over again when another busy week’s worth of clutter is dragging you down. Glug, glug, glug.

So, the ‘to do’ list is born and lurks in the kitchen. Even putting something on the list which I have already done, so that I can tick it and feel good, is not convincing me that I am making progress – and now the sun is trying to pierce the gloom of overdue-for-cleaning windows.
Hey ho, never mind, it will soon be raining again!

The other day, choked with a weariness born of household chores, I sought fresh air and a brisk walk around the village, just as dusk was nearly upon us and folk had turned on lights but not yet closed their curtains. This peep into other lives revealed similar domestic toil – the ‘light duties’ of tidying drawers, sorting through the heap of paper in the kitchen, cleaning round the sink, finding homes for the minute detritus of 21st century life. Solidarity created a sense of a shared task – alone in the kitchen and yet one of an army of busy ants, bringing order to chaos.
Then, a low sun caught the catkin branch near the road and the catkins seemed to dance with the simple joy of living. A nearby bank filled with snowdrops quietly inderlined the theme of hidden, service.
“Thank you.”
(I hope no-one overheard me – it came out louder than expected in the hollow evening air.)

Time for tea and toast and a new page on the ‘to do’ list. No false entries today – pure reality will do,

About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in creativity, flowers, winter. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Musings on a winter afternoon

  1. Susan in TX says:

    Love this. Sounds like I need to take a walk and come back. I’m sure my list will still be here waiting, but I’ll feel better with a shift in perspective. Thanks for sharing this one!

  2. I’m worried! Are you isolated behind stop banks, barricaded by sand bags, rescued by life raft or otherwise afloat in in all the wet weather? I hadn’t heard of the Somerset Levels previously and now hear of little else on our news (well apart from Sochi that is!) Hope you and OV are OK.

  3. apthomas says:

    Dear Margaret, we are none of the former but entirely the latter – our feet are dry but our cat is Very Fed Up as yet another storm hits us this morning. With the RSPCA warning that high winds can turn cats into Toto-look-alikes, and Sherpa not wishing to visit the Land of Oz, I guess she’s in for another day indoors! The Levels, being level, and below sea level, have plain disappeared! 😦 But now the south-east is getting hit – far more people live there, poor souls. Global warming? Probably. Thanks for your concern and sympathy.

Leave a Reply

