All put away

I’ve put away the tinsel, the lights, the Christmas scene,
I’ve tidied up the clutter and vacuumed, swept and cleaned.
I’ve fingered cards from loved ones, with messages sincere,
Placing memories in boxes – stored for another year.

With bins all overflowing, rubbish blowing down the lane,
The wind takes the recycling – the bin men aren’t to blame.
‘The days are drawing out now,’ a neighbour says to me,
Walking swiftly down the lane to throw off lethergy.

Inside the ravaged kitchen, order is restored;
The calendar turned to this new day – its motto quite ignored.
I do not want to play the fool and hope for better things –
Content within, I envy not the ‘Palaces of Kings’.

As each year brings its challenges, its hopes, its joys, its fears,
There’ll be enough to cope with, without sentimental tears.
So, as Christmas decorations disappear into the loft
I’ll run and catch my friend up – to prove I’ve not gone soft!
IMG_0826

About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in Christmas, holidays, memories, weather, winter. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to All put away

  1. Love that centerpiece! It’s always a little melancholy after Christmas, but then there’s Valentine’s Day (lots of chocolate!) and the first day of spring to look forward to.

  2. apthomas says:

    Thank you E-E E. The centrepiece is off to the loft, too, but the candles will stay around – plus 3 kings and 3 camels on the mantleshelf until Feb 2nd. As for the chocolate – there ought to be a bit of a gap in order to shed the odd pound of unwanted ‘me’!

Leave a Reply

