Firsts

‘There’s a first time for everything’ they say – well, this week saw two definite ‘firsts’ for me.

The ‘first first’ took place in Ludlow, where I joined some friends in the audience for ‘Nabucco’ which was screened at the Assembly Rooms.  I have seen the advertisements for similar opera screenings, but never got around to giving one a try.  I am now completely converted – it was absolutely incredible – wonderful, moving – even devastating at times – and I was completely transfixed throughout.

The ‘second first’ was attending a book launch – my very dear friend Kathy was celebrating the launch of the book for which she painted pictures – in collaboration with John Elinger: poet.  ‘That sweet city – Visions of Oxford’ (published by Signal Books) is a compilation of ‘walks’ – each comprising 7 sights or foci along the way.  Each one of these has its poem and its painting.  As a novel way of exploring Oxford, it could be a launch-pad for anyone with a little creativity, a strong pair of walking boots and time to stand and stare.  The book itself is a delight to the senses – holding it is a pleasurable experience even – it feels so wonderful.  It looks beautiful and its foreword is extremely informative.  Buy a copy for yourself and one to give to a friend – it’s that kind of book!

Image Being at the launch was such a privilege – how lucky I am to have such a talented friend and how delightful to be there, cheering on the sidelines – as proud as any parent on sports day!

There’s an old saying that ‘things come in threes’…. well, these were the first two firsts… I can’t wait for a third if these are true examples of the genre!

About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Firsts

  1. Simon T says:

    A parent on sports day! I can’t imagine you were ever a proud one of them! 🙂
    But it was lovely to see you in Oxford, and go to the launch together.

    • apthomas says:

      Hi Susan. You are perfectly right about my lack of pride on sports day – although losing with dignity is always something we non-athletic folk can aspire to! I used the expression for those who don’t know me so well!

      The book launch in Oxford was great fun – I am so proud of my old school friend – we’ve been friends for 48 years and have NEVER fallen out. Now that is better than any sporting achievement don’t you think?

      Very best wishes to you and your family Anne

      > Date: Mon, 6 May 2013 20:31:56 +0000 > To: apthomas@hotmail.co.uk >

Leave a Reply

