Easter

Easter 2012
This has been a very strange Easter. Ill-health has kept me tucked up at home for over three weeks now. I can’t recall an Easter when I have been so dislocated from the festival, observing from a distance and unable to take part.
As the sun shone through the window on Easter morning I thought of all the people heading off to church. It was a bit like being Cinderella – everyone else was off to the ball and I was left behind.
Then, from nowhere, or so it seemed, came the joyful sound of church bells. They did not exclude. They did not brag ‘here we are having all the fun and you are left outside’ – no, their message was clear – ‘rejoice with us for He is risen’
“He is risen indeed. Hallelujah” I heard myself say – no longer on the outside but warm within the Easter embrace.
So – thank you all you bell ringers – your music reaches right into the sickroom, with healing of its own.

About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in Easter. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Easter

  1. Susan in TX says:

    So sorry that you have been down for so long! What a wonderful sound to hear for encouragement, though. We stepped out of church to a downpour of rain yesterday — wonderful, glorious rain for our drought-thirsty ground. It didn’t last long, but it was nice while it lasted. Praying for you – I hope you are back up and rejoining normal activities soon!

    • apthomas says:

      Thanks Susan. I love your description of rain – we have had more than our fair share over recent months and long for sunshine.
      Healthwise, I am taking a long holiday from busy-ness and gently returning to full health… with spring on the way I plan to grow with the season! OV is being wonderful… but can’t keep up the cooking for much longer 😉

Leave a Reply

