Spoilt for choice


So, dear readers, this is the awful evidence…. tea for just two!
In the library…
without lead piping or revolver!
It was delicious and great fun….

…… although it will be some time before I get over the library decor: a wall papered in ‘book shelf’ wallpaper, whilst the real shelves held…. some carefully arranged ornaments, a few books and… a LOT of LOGS!
How about that?
Oooh – and you had the ‘before’ picture… here is the ‘after’
Just two little lonely chocolate slices and a few bits of salad remain! Mmmmmmmmmmmmm

About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in books, memories, Thrills!. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Spoilt for choice

  1. Kathy says:

    Explain? Where, when, with whom??

  2. apthomas says:

    Bishopstrow House Hotel, Warminster, Friday, OV
    Yummy ‘birthday’ treat courtesy of my sis

  3. Susan in TX says:

    Looks delicious! I’m taking notes as to the tray contents. The church mother/daughter tea is supposed to be in my backyard in a couple of weeks and I want to do it “right.” 🙂

    • apthomas says:

      So, here goes… choice of 2 sandwich fillings (salmon & cream cheese / egg mayonnaise & cress) on brown bread + crisps salad (an unusual addition and hard to eat politely!)
      fruit scone with jam & clotted cream
      choice of cakes: pineapple & kiwi fruit tartlet, chocolate eclair, ginger & ? cake, fruit & nut cake, and lastly chocolate sponge. Washed down with copious cups of tea.
      We gave up before the fifth cake!
      Good luck with your event 🙂

  4. Dibs on anything chocolate! Oh, my that looks sooooo gooood! I’m intrigued by the pineapple and kiwi fruit tartlet — I wouldn’t have imagined those two fruits together but sounds tasty.

    • apthomas says:

      It totally worked – but was quite hard to eat – the pastry shattered in an alarming manner. Oh, and I forgot to mention the fresh strawberries – I ate these, but really I am a purist: strawberries are for Wimbledon and should be eaten ‘in season’.

  5. apthomas says:

    Written out it looks even greedier Susan!

Leave a Reply

