That cat!

That cat! I’m sure she can work out when it is OV’s day off! She behaves quite differently – she mixes periods of anxiety (‘Are they going out and leaving me for hours on end?’) with episodes of skittishness (‘Come on, come on! Come out to play with me in the garden!’)
Having had an unsatisfactory amount of attention on Friday, she put in an appearance in the Honey Pot on Saturday morning – to be worshipped by an admiring band of ladies – then disappeared to stalk shadows.
After lunch I wandered out to look at the garden – you know – wandering in the sunshine and making lists which are instantly forgotten – when suddenly I found myself wearing a cat!
One moment she was leading me across the terrace and observing me as I regarded the garden, the next she had sprung from a standing start and festooned herself across my shoulder, pressing her nose into my cheek.
It was, one might say, quite alarming!
Later, OV and I decided to take a stroll around the village. Madam followed us and played hide and seek along the lane. Usually, when we reach the pub, Sherpa turns for home – or to lurk in a nearby garden and leap out on us on the way back.
Not yesterday.
The family has left the pub and taken its large woofy dog with them. Sherpa regarded this as carte blanche for cats and proceeded to do a good 007 training session weaving in and out of the garden hedge and generally shadowing our walk.
Now, our lanes are narrow and, for the most part, quiet – a trap for daft cats – there’s nowhere to run when a car does come and many a whisker has been used to measure the ‘lucky escapes’ of local felines.
At this point ours demonstrated her grasp of the Green Cross Code by rolling around in the middle of the lane and chasing her tail.
The walk was abandonned and we were forced to retrace our steps. OV made a swift feint to the right and grabbed Sherpa with his left hand, holding her in an inescapable grip all the way back home and in through the front door.
Managing to fool her, we closed the door and resumed our walk – much curtailed – and enjoyed the glorious weather and the sunlight bringing out the autumn colours all around us.
Back home – yes – you guessed it: That Cat had purrfected her air of innocent neglect and has proceeded to punish us ever since.
What was life like before we had her?
Predictable!

About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in cat. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to That cat!

  1. Simon T says:

    “At this point ours demonstrated her grasp of the Green Cross Code by rolling around in the middle of the lane and chasing her tail.” – hilarious!

    Bless her, she’s such a wonder… and congratulations to Dad for catching her in the street.
    I’m glad she’s got part-ownership of me 🙂

Leave a Reply

