Being thankful

As the congregation raised their voices in the traditional harvest hymns for the first time this Autumn (just 4 more harvest festival services to go in this rural idyll!) I couldn’t help thinking that it was hard to say thank you for the kind of harvest we have had this year. All the work that has gone in to sowing, caring, trying to rescue and then harvest crops has resulted in damaged, mishapen, rotting, poor quality fruit, veg and cereals. Potatoes have rotted in the fields. Corn has hardly grown and had been flattened in the fields. Apples are few and poor in quality and size. Supermarkets are planning how we can be persuaded to overcome our prejudices about ‘ugly fruit and veg’. The world is quite quite mad!

So, what can we give thanks about? Well, I can remember the limited choices when I was a child – our shopping baskets could only claim produce which was ‘in season’ – our tables only boasted these or what could be grown in the garden or on the allotment. Our diet was not very different from that of wartime Britain (yes, I’m old enough to have had my own ration book!) SO I’m giving thanks for VARIETY – even if it’s ugly!
As for my veg patch – well, I have managed to glean a little and neighbours have been kind with their excess fruit and veg. Raspberries – a treat in the shops – have been an almost daily delicacy from the garden
I’m glad too that I can enjoy beautifully tasty local bread – good on the taste buds and lighter on the hips if eaten in small quantities.

I’m saying Thank You for what I have – rather than what I wish I had – it’s amazing how that attitude helps one get up from the table feeling full. If the veg runs out – well, there’s always cake!

(Oh, and the ducks across the road are quacking thank you for all the lovely slugs!)

About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Being thankful

  1. You had me at “cake”. All of it looks delicious.

    Our veg and fruit have been pretty good., thankfully. I’m lucky to live in an area with access to several farmer’s markets.

  2. apthomas says:

    I’m definitely better at ‘cake’ than growing veg!

  3. Susan in TX says:

    Ah, the attitude of gratitude is such a powerful thing. Thank you for the reminder! Of course, a little chocolate cake can also be a powerful thing in its own way. 🙂

    • apthomas says:

      I have been reminded of the bit about fleas in ‘The Hiding Place’ by Corrie ten Boom – in the concentration camp her sister said “Thank God for the fleas” – which Corrie found really hard to do. It was the fleas though, which kept the guards out of the room and allowed them to keep their miniature Bible – which gave much comfort in a hellish place.
      Why have I been thinking about this? Mmm – drat that cat!

Leave a Reply

