Apples

Now here’s a thing: I was reading Zechariah 2 v 8 about us being the ‘apple of God’s eye’ – which is rather an incredible thought. Anyway, it set me thinking – if you were an apple, which kind would you like to be and why?

I’m going for Bramley – you can be added to blackberries, covered in crumble and served with custard. Mmmmm. Delicious and so comforting.

Over to you.

About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset - but have had to leave the countryside at a little distance, having moved into town.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Apples

  1. Granny Smith. They’ve got a zing to them and are also good in apple pies. Especially topped with whipped cream, vanilla frozen yogurt or vanilla ice cream. šŸ™‚

  2. Tiffany says:

    I would love to say I’m a zesty Granny Smith or even an exotic Grapple, but I’m probably more of a standard, traditional, dependable Red Delicious. šŸ™‚

    • apthomas says:

      I had to look up ‘Grapple’, and I’m not sure I ever saw a Red Delicious – only the rather bland Golden Delicious. I guess they aren’t available in the UK. I like the ‘Zesty Granny Smith’ – go for it!

  3. Susan in TX says:

    I had to look up Bramley on Wikipedia — looks like a larger version of a Granny Smith. I was thinking I’d be a Granny Smith, but they can be a little too tart unless you put them in a dessert, so I’m going to go with a Pink Lady.

    • apthomas says:

      Pink Lady – now there’s style! They ARE available in the UK – I’m struggling with some of the others. My Bramley is over 200 years old (as a variety) and is only good for cooking. It keeps well though.
      I now realise that the UK & the US are separated by apples as well as water!

  4. Colin says:

    Golden Delicious. Because of my footballing leanings and the fact that I am a good-looking young man. Well, so my mother tells me.

Leave a comment