Another kind of Birdwatch

Oh dear! The buzzards are very much in evidence at the moment…. and one of them tried to make lunch from Sherpa!
I looked up from the kitchen table to see the sky filled by the outstretched wings of a buzzard – swooping down across the field straight at the house. Then I realised that Sherpa had jumped up on the window sill in front of me. OV let her in as the buzzard dropped short and landed in the field, just the other side of the fence. A near thing.
I have searched the internet for cats falling prey to buzzards, but nothing came up. Sherpa is such a dear little cat – she’ll never grow big – so I only hope that the buzzards fill themselves up on road kill, slugs and beetles – leaving no room for our four-footed friend.
In other news, I spent a happy half-hour or so this morning touring the barns at the farm – a guided tour by the farmer’s wife. My visiting friend K and I sketched the cows and calves there. Birds filled the barn, free-loading on the cattle – nicking their food – then rose in a flock, scared by the sudden sound made by our farming friend as she clanged the large, solid metal gate. They circled the farm and settled in the trees nearby.
All this is a bit too much like Daphne du Maurier for me! Think I’ll stop indoors for a bit.

About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Another kind of Birdwatch

  1. Simon T says:

    Stay safe, little Sherpa!

  2. Susan in TX says:

    Glad to know that Sherpa is safe, but must admit that your du Maurier comment had me chuckling a little bit. Taking the time to sketch the cows sounds like a most relaxing activity to me (without the birds, of course).

    • apthomas says:

      Sherpa is sitting curled up in the chair opposite mine right now – having a good wash!
      I loved sketching the cows – particularly the calves. They have such gorgeous eye-lashes and very lady-like expressions. They were soooooooo interested in what we were doing – didn’t want to miss a moment 🙂

Leave a Reply

