Happy New Year!

Ok, so I’m a couple of days late …or so…but the sentiment comes with oodles of enthusiasm.
So far this year the beautiful British weather has flung storms and rain squalls – some torrential – in equal measure. I wouldn’t like to say that the Rectory window frames are warped, but the wind is actually making the curtains ripple!
The mildness of the weather has confused the lump of hibernating ladybirds in our back bedroom (where I sit and write) and they are waking up and flying about haphazardly, landing on inappropriate surfaces and creating an olympic trim trail for Sherpa the cat, who adores trying to catch them. They clearly taste disgusting, because no sooner has she munched one than it gets spat out again.
Despite all this activity the writing is going well and the plot…thickens? (well no, actually it is becoming more transparent – but whoever heard of a plot thinning?)
As a welcome relief from all this storm-watching, Monday was a gloriously mild sunny bank holiday – so OV and I improved the shining hour by hacking away at various hedges, shrubs and trees – in an attempt to make Prince Charming redundant (you know – all that briar-hacking to get to the sleeping beauty.) We even ate a sandwich lunch in the garden without getting too cold!
Speaking of which, Sherpa is snoozing and I feel an irrisistable urge to do the same – or at least, pretend to do some crochet work whilst gazing brainlessly at the box in the corner of the room (I refer to the TV and not the margarine box stuffed over the ventilation point to prevent another set of curtains flapping in the wind.)
Cheerio!
And Happy Whateveritisnow!

About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy New Year!

  1. Susan in TX says:

    Happy New Year to you and OV! I can relate to that snoozing urge — if I sit down too long and get warm, my world goes black and I wake up to the unfamiliar sound of silence, or “shhh, mom’s taking a nap.” 🙂 So glad to hear that you are making good progress on the writing in spite of all the storms going on over there!

Leave a Reply

