Grief and pain!

My sons’ piano teacher used to bring out a little ditty whenever she or her friends were having a Spring clean or a mega sort out at home. It went:
“Everything here is grief and pain… over the road they’re doing the same!”
In this day of complicated refuse and recycling collections it is important to read the runes and do your sort out in the right week. Black bin next Monday (All Bins Must Be By The Roadside BY 7a.m. By Order!) so I guess this is the right week to start on the pre-Christmas Clutter Purge.
Oh my!
I feel the need to locate an old-fashioned tape recorder so that I can listen to my Jane Austen collection whilst I work. I reckon that the cupboard in the spare room will take all of Emma to sort through, and as for the dining room… Mansfield Park will hardly be long enough!
I’ll save Persuasion for the wardrobes and chests of drawers.
Sense and Sensibility must be kept at a distance when sorting through old mail – or I shall need another box of tissues … perhaps I’ll clean out the kitchen and utility room cupboards to that one.
Northanger Abbey… oooh, I know – I’ll play it loudly through the door to the attic when I venture up there to sort out the bat droppings!
And P&P?
I think I’ll save that for the mending pile – after all, one never knows who might call!

About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in books, Jane Austen. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Grief and pain!

  1. Susan in TX says:

    Sounds like a lovely way to de-clutter to me. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

