Charity breakfast

If you have been wondering where I have been hiding over the past few days, the answer is in the title – we held a charity breakfast here this morning – on the driveway – in GLORIOUS sunshine. Hence, all week I have been ‘battening down the hatches’, so to speak. My faith regarding the weather was puny I am afraid – I just could not believe that the weather forcasters had got it wrong. Threats of heavy downpowers appeared to be putting a literal damper on proceedings. Therefore we drafted in all manner of waterproof coverings ‘just in case’.
It did rain: a few drops just as OV and I were setting out the chairs and tables and a thorough-going shower just after the last tent had been taken down and the last box had been stowed in the garage! I hang my head in shame – yet another gloriously sunny Honeypot Breakfast morning. I believed for (and bought for) 90 cooked breakfasts – and that was spot-on! (Rather overcatered on some items – MUST write down what we actually used as information for next year…note to self!)
I’ll leave you with some pictures – Buzz the bee is happy – we raised a record-breaking £540 to be shared between Farm Crisis Network and Akamba Aid Fund – and a good time was had by all! It was really rewarding for all those who came along – especially the A Team of helpers. (Oh, and I ought to add that the camera has gone wrong again – ignore the date on the pics!)

About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Charity breakfast

  1. Mary Robinson says:

    Amazing and brilliant!
    Well done.

  2. Susan in TX says:

    What a wonderful morning – and sounds like very good results. It does look like a regular outdoor cafe with all the umbrella tables. I hope you have had some time for some rest after all of that work!

Leave a Reply

