The wheels are off my wagon!

Have you ever had that annoying experience when you are waiting to hear from someone and they don’t call… then you meet them and they say “Why haven’t you called? I’ve been waiting to hear from you.” Yes, I bet you have – and you begin to think you’re losing it! Then you go back over the intervening time and a nagging doubt assails you – yes, the conversation comes back to you and you can hear yourself saying “Yeah, I’ll ring you in a day or two.”

So there you are. The canary-coloured caravan lurks in the corner of the garden, the tarpaulin over its head having been stretched to the limit by recent storms – shredding one of the guy ropes. The weeds are growing up around it and the four beautifully (well, fairly beautifully) painted wheels are leaning against the fence, threaded with stinging nettles. Grrrr!

True I have been busy. True not all the painting of bits of wood has been done. True the weather has been wild, wet and windy (at times). True that I could have done some of the interior work while I waited. Oh dear.

So, now I must ring the wonderful Ian and grovel – and try to find time in the next couple of days to tidy the site, prepare the next bit of work and be ready for Ian to turn up – all this whilst keeping the grass and weeds down in the garden, maintaining the house, helping my friend move house, attending ANOTHER wedding, writing the book and remembering the shopping.

Mmm. Praps it’s time to put up the hammock and find that book I’m in the middle of reading. Ah, no, Sherpa has just come in and sat on the keyboard. It’s time to pet a cat … purrrrrrr.

About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The wheels are off my wagon!

  1. Susan in TX says:

    I had to smile. I definitely feel your pain! The list of things I was going to get accomplished this summer has become a source of comedy. Busyness has driven much of our schedule, along with some fun, but totally unplanned mini-trips. I’m starting to already see the “beginning of the end” of summer and fall rushing in and I’m trying not to panic about what must be accomplished before we return to school in August. One day at a time. That’s the only way to tackle it all. One bite at a time. 🙂 We’ll look forward to seeing the caravan no matter when it gets completed!

Leave a Reply

