“I will”

In good old UK the wedding service contains the response “I will” (NOT “I do” as in US of A – and therefore most films!) The bride and groom both say “I will” and, when the assembled guests are asked if they will support and help the pair throughout their married life, the congregational response is “We will!”
This afternoon has been no different – the twelve-thirty wedding in the village here elicited good solid responses and the guests are now heading off to the reception. The bride walked to church – a lovely village tradition which was nearly scuppered by the weather – but the rain held off and all was well. The bridesmaids did their job well (not to mention the page-boy) and the confetti was (I think home-grown) flower petals. Lovely.
There was a wedding last week in another of the villages – with equally well-articulated responses and similar quantities of flower petals. The weather remained glorious all weekend, so the reception took place under idyllic conditions and the cricket match held the following day was a delightful end to the weekend’s celebrations. How very English!
Years ago I remember an old farm worker being asked by the farmer’s lad: “Dad says will you come up to the yard when you’re finished here?”
After a moment or two, the old chap replied: “Tell him I will…” there was a pause, then he added: …”presently.”
When we make a promise it is an act of will. If we will a thing, then it should be in our power to deliver on that promise. Next time you hear yourself say “I will” remember that it’s now up to you to “put your money where your mouth is.”
I will!

About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “I will”

  1. Susan in TX says:

    Love this! It is so very true, and something today’s generation in the US rarely hear. Pass it along to my children? I will! 🙂

Leave a Reply

