Rain stops play?

When, a couple of months ago, I boldly announced to friends and family ‘my plan is to have the caravan neat and tidy – at least on the outside – and the garden weeded, grass cut and veg plot reclaimed from its jungle in time for the garden party here on 20th’ I felt confident that it could be done.
Was that a distant snigger I heard?
Well, you’re right of course.
The grass WAS cut. The veg plot was beginning to look as if it meant some kind of business (although nothing like as impressive as the one I saw of the farm yesterday – particularly the bits that are still recovering from OV setting fire to them…don’t ask!). There are still plenty of weeds in the borders, but most of the stinging nettles have been removed from the obvious places and as for the rest of it… well, I think ‘riotous’ is the style I am attempting to create!
The myrtle seems to have got over the worst of its frost damage and the bay tree is looking quite chirpy. The pitisporum is distinctly dead-looking – ne’er a leaf in sight – but I’ll give it a bit longer before attacking it with the pruning knife.
As for the caravan – rain stopped play.
So, June 20th arrived and by the evening the rain was falling so steadily that even OV couldn’t pretend that our guests would be happy to sip pimms in the garden. I tried to convince one or two that the green rug in the hall was the parterre, but the idea fell on unreceptive ears. Hey ho. So much for the garden party. (The ‘Indoor Garden Party’ went quite well though!)
The tables and stacked chairs still stand folornly about the lawn, awaiting a Great Event. I’ll move them later today and pretend that the lawn doesn’t need cutting again.
Maybe I’ll start on the weeding again later – I’ll just have to check my supply of pain-relieving gel for rubbing into my back afterwards.
If you fancy a bit of pain-free gardening go to http://maryrobinsonpoetry.blogspot.com/
Very poetic and not a weed in sight.
I may get back to work on the caravan too – just as soon as I have finished all the other jobs that need doing…. before it rains again.
Ah, it’s Glastonbury week AND Wimbledon – no wonder the rain keeps falling!

About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

