Roman soldiers in the living room

In the words of Falco: “Io”.
There are four Roman soldiers in my living room – I made them leave their spears and shields in the hall, but they insisted on hanging on to their swords. I found them ‘disarmed’, skulking in the loft above the garage. They had been there for months and I can’t say the inactivity has done them much good. However, having been visited by the cohort medic, broken arms have been set (or, in one case, re-created) and they are now flexing their muscles and hanging around the doorway, looking as if they know they ought to be somewhere else.
I’ll have to translate their orders into English – none of them is a native of Italy and they find Latin taxing. Basically, the orders are “March over the hill to the next village. Enter the place of worship. Hang about there on duty for a few weeks. Take no notice of the crowds – they have just come because of the man on the cross. There shouldn’t be much trouble. Once this tour of duty is over you can return to quarters.”
Valete.

About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Roman soldiers in the living room

  1. Susan in TX says:

    I would think this crew would get a lot of attention from the little guys in your congregation. 🙂

  2. Simon T says:

    I love you, Mum!
    (still no card??)

Leave a Reply

