Poetry e-motion

I’ve featured on Stuck-in-a-book!
Pop over and take a wee look.
With Lyn by my side
I am puffed up with pride.
It’s quite reprehensible – euch! (sorry poets!)

My blog has gained visits a-plenty:
Not two or three, or e’en twenty –
But more than five score!
Who could ask for much more?
Not I – I’m completely content-y! (sorry again!)

So I bask in the glow of such glory.
Albeit ephemer-all-y (arrgghhh!)
I’ll hit the new day
Without much more to say
And continue the work on my story! (which is prose!)

(You’ll be glad to know that I have no desire – or, apparently, talent – to become a poet!)

About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Poetry e-motion

  1. Penny says:

    Well, I, for one, enjoyed your poem and it expressed your feelings perfectly, so… šŸ™‚

    Great to have so many new readers! Do you wish they’d left comments? I always do… ((1) Wish they would leave comments on my blog, and (2) leave comments on others I’ve enjoyed, I mean… Maybe I should try poetry instead of prose! I might express myself more clearly! Or not… šŸ™‚ )

    • apthomas says:

      Dear Penny I think I see
      what it was you were saying to me
      This poetry flair
      Is too much to bear
      So I think I’ll resort to prose instead!

      Fun to hear from you!

      • Penny says:

        I love it when people, instead
        Of just reading, then nodding their head,
        Leave a comment for me
        As it helps me to see
        That they really did like what they read.

  2. apthomas says:

    Oh Penny – it’s catching!

  3. Susan in TX says:

    I think you did quite well with the poetry. šŸ™‚ I enjoyed your “reading life” and esp. seeing so many favorite books in common (but I think I just *knew* that about you). I wonder if Simon had any idea how popular his series would be?

  4. db says:

    Enjoyed very much your selections in Stuck-in-a-books…and what a wonderful idea to look at various readers and their ‘life in books”, with that last question as a bonus – quite original! While not quite the same as crossing paths in town, or gathering for a book group in a home, the world of blogs is a ‘community’ that is pure pleasure and covers great distance in a click or two! Magic.

  5. Lyn says:

    I was honoured to be paired with you at SIAB, Anne. Simon obviously realised we had a lot in common. I’ve enjoyed reading everyone else’s entries & my blog had a spike in visits too!

    • apthomas says:

      I loved being paired with you too Lyn – much in common.
      It’s been such a fun week – and a lot of variety too. The pairings were imaginative and worked really well.
      I know how much work Simon put into it all – so well done Simon!

Leave a Reply

