Is it a plane? Is it a bird?…

For those of you who live without a cat in the house, this is a picture of a Stair Hazard. This species lurks in dark corners, winds itself about your ankles, starts to go down stairs in front of you and then stops – just in the very place you intend to put your foot (usually when you are carrying the linen basket and can’t see where you are going) AND (new skill) climbs the tree with the bird feeders in it, in hopes of catching / becoming a bird (not sure which!)
If you are a bird-lover, be not distressed – the RSPB-approved collar with loud bell on it is VERY effective.
Sherpa eats cat food, bird food, me, spiders and (almost – today’s trick) bumble bees.
So, if you are visiting and you catch a glimpse of a black shadow shooting past at the corner of your eye, zooming under the lavender, chasing its tail in circles, leaping up to catch a fly, weaving round and up the tree… it isn’t a plane, it isn’t a bird… it’s SHERPA!

About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Is it a plane? Is it a bird?…

  1. Susan in TX says:

    This made me chuckle – I don’t have a cat, but with 4 kids in the house (who always seem to be in a bigger hurry than I am) I tend to walk down the stairs with my hands out on either side in “do not attempt to pass me” mode. 🙂

  2. Simon T says:

    Awww, she’s so adorable… sneak her in your luggage this week, yes?

  3. Dark Puss says:

    Hi from a fellow cat lover (or possibly a fellow cat). I don’t have one (never have) but my lovely Swiss friends Ms D and Ms F have several and I recognise the hazard.

    Greetings from the darkest cat!

Leave a Reply

