More Tea?

OV and I set out to do some gardening this afternoon – that is, OV got started and I remained inside to sort out the cat litter tray. Then the phone went and OV was called away. One quick shimmy into the garden and back decided me – sorting out the wardrobe suddenly became attractive. Brrrrr! a chill wind whipping up last autumn’s leaves and finding its way right through my fleece.
This is the time of year when everything begins to look shabby. The brighter quality of light (I know I shouldn’t have cleaned those windows) shows up every bit of dust and cobweb. Furnishings look sad and in need of a spring clean – but the days are few and far between when I can trust washing to the line without the prospect of having the damp stuff draped around the house for days.
So I must contain my enthusiasm a little longer. If I lie down and take a post prandial nap, it should be about time for tea!

For those of you who know that I am spending quite a lot of my time writing something set in Victorian England, may I commend a re-read of Great Expectations (the bit about Joe’s hat is funny and the descriptions of Wemmick’s house and the Aged Parent, Dickens at his most Dickensian) and then take a wander over to this blog: “http://virtualvictorian.blogspot.com/”
(I hope that works) It’s full of interesting Victoriana.
With my ‘Twin Hat’ on – I had no idea that the original ‘Siamese Twins’ (i.e. conjoined twins) were originally known as the Chinese Twins.

So you see, staying in out of the cold has its compensations!
More tea?

About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to More Tea?

  1. Susan in TX says:

    Your Victorian writing project sounds interesting – I hope we get to see some of it eventually. 🙂 Our weather here is also in “roller coaster” mode, so I’m content to join you for tea indoors for at least another few weeks! Off to check out the victorian link.

  2. apthomas says:

    Hope you enjoyed the link Susan – and the cup of tea!

Leave a Reply

