Fast Food

When you’ve been ill and the very sound of food makes you turn a light shade of green, it’s hard to get back to eating. You walk around the kitchen and walk out again, nowhere nearer to deciding what to eat than before you eased yourself out of the armchair.
Toast. Egg. Cheese. Honey. Porridge. Toast. Toast.
NO MORE TOAST PLEASE!
What I need is Fast Food – not the kind you buy at an outlet, but food for the mind, not the stomach – something to take you far away from the sickroom and into golden summer meadows.
Ahhh…..
Maybe a childhood favourite – Wind in the Willows – that goes down well as winter begins to turn to spring. Mmm. Must wait a few weeks for that then.
How about a good old romantic frolic with Mr Darcy? No, I’m sorry. My head aches and Lydia and Mrs Bennett between them are driving me crazy (not to mention Mary on the piano!)
A good old fashioned murder might be the tonic – grab a Ruth Rendell off the shelf and hope it isn’t a plot I can remember.
But no. Too much like hard work. Can’t be bothered to remember the plot or the people. Need another day or two.
Ah, what’s this just in reach?
Lyndsey Davis: ‘Saturnalia’ Think I’ve read it before. Do I care? Doesn’t matter!
Can I remember the plot? When did Falco expect me to?
Do I care about the people? About as much as my old Latin teacher would expect.
Do I enjoy the sarcasm, wit and acid tongue of Falco? You bet! AND it’s set in the winter. Perfect. This is the one for me!
…just so long as she doesn’t keep describing the food……..

About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fast Food

  1. Susan in TX says:

    So sorry that you’ve been sick! I pray you are back to normal with a good appetite soon.

Leave a Reply

