Prevarication

I’m supposed to be doing some writing –
something important you know,
but the cobwebs around
and the dust that abounds
make my intellect turgid and slow.

My muscles all twitch and a-dither,
I cannot sit still on my chair!
I know if I wait
and my story relate
those dust-webs will cling to my hair!

I cannot remain in this posture,
my feet are all jiggling and fast,
I’ll just jump off my chair,
waft a rag in the air,
and act – the mood will not last!

So, I’ve cleaned and I’ve swept,
dusted chairs ’til I wept
and sneezed at the dust thus removed.
And, once more at the ‘board
I’ll my deep thoughts record
and ignore the complete breakdown of any scheme in this strange poem!

Here I go……

About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Prevarication

  1. Great fun – I’m sure you now have those ‘writerly’ juices flowing! I have similar procrastination tales but not as creatively told. My daughter sent me this article by James Surowiecki of the New Yorker, “Later”, that seemed a cut above the usual essays on the topic at http://www.newyorker.com/arts/critics/books/2010/10/11/101011crbo_books_surowiecki
    Cheers

    • apthomas says:

      Ah, how true! Perhaps my reluctance to ‘bite the bullet’ said more about the muddle I was about to untangle (for which I felt ill-prepared) than my motivation (in general terms).. Perhaps I should liken it to standing beside a swimming pool, dithering. You know the temperature of the water will hit you as a shock – but you equally know that within moments you will be swimming happily up and down the pool wondering why you don’t do this all the time!

Leave a Reply

