Marmalade

Seville oranges are in the shops, so I popped into the local Spar and bought enough for 2 boilings, took them home and spent a happy hour or more preparing the fruit yesterday. As I squeezed the juice, gouged out the pith and flung the skins into the food processor (all Proper Cooks turn away now!) I listened to an item on BBC radio 4’s ‘Woman’s Hour’ about the other uses for Seville oranges (consistantly pronounced S’ville as opposed to Se-ville). Throughout the item pity was expressed for those who used the oranges ‘merely to make marmalade’ and much was made of the different exotic drinks (alcoholic) and rich creamy sauces they could be used to enhance – not to mention the delicious dainties to go with duck and other such refined meats, well beyond my purse. ‘Mere’!!!??? Isn’t this time of year MADE for marmalade? And isn’t home-made marmalade the ONLY way to enjoy the true full fruit flavour of these annual visitors to our shores? Pouff, I say! Pouff!
So today will be a day punctuated by the careful nurturing of the reducing boil and the fast boil and the butter skim and… I’m feeling tired already!
I shall move my work into the corner of the kitchen so that I can monitor the process with fewer stairs to negotiate… oh and I’ll mark the jars ‘Se-ville orange marmalade’, which is traditional and, according to the BBC Pronunciation Unit, the Correct Way to pronounce it when referring to the fruit! Ha!
And, once my beautiful marmalade is resting in its gleaming jars (handed down through the family) and neatly labelled, I will give their sticky sides one more desperate wipe and set about the three-week process of cleaning the sugar residue from the condensation, off the walls (and every other conceivable surface) of the kitchen! Lovely!

About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Marmalade

  1. Greetings from Ontario Canada, Anne,

    I have only recently come across your blog, having seen a recommendation for it in another blog (probably Stuck in a Book, is that possible?) and just want to say that it is lovely to have it pop up in my ‘google reader’ from time to time – the joys of marmalade season particularly so. Se-ville Marmalade season! I will remember that. While it may, or may not, prompt me to do it for the first time (wonderful memories of my mother’s seasonal pursuits), I want to say that your posts are appreciated and like friends crossing paths. Thank you!

    • apthomas says:

      Lovely to meet you Deborah. You may have worked out that I am OVW from Stuck-in-a book. What it is, to be recognised because of your son!
      p.s. the marmalde is now on the shelf below last year’s strawberry jam + a row of strange preserves with labels that fell off years ago!
      Glad you enjoy the blog.

  2. Simon T says:

    David will be pleased 🙂 We’re excited about seeing him again here – sorry to take him away from the marmalade.

  3. Susan in TX says:

    Oh, I can almost smell the oranges simmering! Pouff! I say as well — who has time to cook the way they were describing? 🙂 Thanks for sharing your day with us.

Leave a Reply

