Happy New Year!

Here we are in 2011 (say twenty eleven?) and I have included the stats entry for any geeks out there who like reading such things. I can’t say personally that I feel my blog is ‘on fire’ – but whatever…!

All is quiet here in Somerset. Family members have all taken themselves off and OV and I are left quietly by the log fire. Sherpa is so disgusted with our lack of youthful vigour that she has taken up residence under the sofa, preferring an old document case beside the radiator (and her collection of pens, stolen from around the living room) to her usual position on a lap. Maybe the lightbulb exploding earlier and plunging us into winter gloom, added to her sense of neglect. Oh dear, cats are so eloquent in their disapproval! She even turned her nose up at a meal of roast duck in gravy. Dear me!

Come to think of it, some of the ‘family members’ may be a little miffed too – it was that last turn at Scrabble yesterday evening when I got all my letters out with ‘filiate’ placed to make the word ‘ef’ (Simon will find it hard to forgive that one) and taking my score to more than the total of the other three players. I do not write this to gloat (much) but merely to mark an occasion which will probably not occur again in 2011 – from now on it will all be downhill!
(However, it is good to feel that one can put them all in their place from time to time!)

Happy New Year everyone!

About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy New Year!

  1. Susan in TX says:

    The Scrabble score had me lol over here! We usually have a Scrabble tournament or two ourselves, but we had a very “odd” holiday this year. Nothing horrible, just major appliances breaking at inconvenient times, illness in extended family shifting our travel plans around twice, etc. All normal things, but things that don’t usually coincide with Christmas. So, we are still looking forward to game nights and jigsaw puzzles – albeit now they will be pushed to evenings and weekends. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Happy New Year to you and your family — hopefully the boys won’t hold the Scrabble grudge too long. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. apthomas says:

    I have to come clean – only one son was in the Scrabble game – the other was long gone back to the world of work. The 4th player was a friend (and hopefully still is one!)
    Happy new year to you and yours – and may all the appliances behave themselves in 2011.

Leave a Reply

