Sherpa Play-thing

Life is getting complicated.
Have you ever tried typing on a laptop with a kitten perched on you just under your chin?
It’s a tricky skill and I have to say that I have not yet mastered it. The worst bit is when said kitten decides to turn round, thus sticking her bottom in your face and her tail up your nose. In terms of comfort for the poor long-suffering blogger, not good. Add to this the fact that you are invariably trying to use capital letters and the computer keys are just at kitten-reach height, plus the fact that the ‘mouse’ (in my case a ‘bee’ bought for me by an innovative son, for my birthday) is perfectly designed to attract kitten-play, and you will understand my difficulties.
Never mind. Spell check is made for such situations as these – I’m sure it mentions pesky kittens in the blurb – oh, and whoever it is who uses the image of 2 goldfish kissing in their banner advert, has a lot to answer for. Every time they appear the kitten tries to catch them! I suspect that a laptop screen can only survive so much kitten attention.

My life is now circumscribed by ‘kitten development’ inasmuchas I must spend chunks of time with her throughout the day, playing really serious stuff like chase the scrumpled paper and hide under the rug (her not me!) plus I can’t get on with my sewing, knitting, card-making, ironing or any other task that includes kitten-attracting items, without putting her away on her own in the kitchen, poor thing.
So, nothing much is getting done and OV is down to his last shirt!
Speaking of OV – I’d better tear myself away and start preparing the evening meal to fit in with his busy schedule (just as soon as I have finished this game of scrumpled paper tag.)

About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sherpa Play-thing

  1. Susan in TX says:

    I’m having to chuckle here. While not a cat person myself, even I can enjoy tales of kitten antics. My 4 kids are begging for a puppy for Christmas and reading this post has me thinking about it in a whole new way! 🙂

  2. Mystica says:

    I am a dog person myself but enjoyed reading the antics of kitten and yourself.

Leave a Reply

