Village lunch

Just back in from the village lunch and feeling drowsy (glass of wine AND apple crumble and custard mmmmmm!) The sun is shining and the day seems to have flipped over the wrong month on the calendar – it is warm and balmy and just a perfect day to enjoy a country walk.
Those of us who actually live in the country know that ‘country walks’ are not for the likes of us – that is, unless they are ‘beating bounds’, exercising the dog (or the walker – in which case the heart beat rate MUST be raised) or heading over to the next village for a pint of milk. Otherwise folks, that walk must be in a car – except in the unusual event that the ‘Nippy’ bus is going both where you want to go and when you want to go (AND you understand the timetable) Country living is not for those whose brains cannot process such complex ifs and buts and hows and whens – if you head on out on public transport without an ‘ology’ in these matters, you may never be seen again!
Of course the horse riders are at an advantage, as their steeds find their own way back home (without sat nav) and most drivers around here manage to slow down to a sensible pace to pass by safely. Cyclists do ok too – their routes are neatly signposted in blue – but I am afraid I would consider myself beyond the pale if I were ever to don one of those remarkable gaments they wear, I shudder at the thought.
So, I think I’ll stay in and sort out some paperwork – at least when I look up for inspiration, the view from the window will be idyllic!

About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Village lunch

  1. Mystica says:

    I’ve always read of crumbles and it sounds gorgeous but I’ve never actually eaten one!

    • apthomas says:

      I’ll dig out a recipe for you! It is the perfect combination (+ it saves all the bother of rolling out pastry!) and is delicious served hot with custard or vanilla ice-cream. Mmmmmm!
      You can add other fruit to it + interesting bits to the crumble – like muesli or dried fruit and nuts or lemon rind.
      Oh dear, now I feel hungry!

  2. Susan in TX says:

    Oh, “Those of us who actually live in the country know that ‘country walks’ are not for the likes of us” had me LOL! I have such an idealistic idea of what life in a British village must be like (from reading too many Miss Read novels, no doubt), and you just shattered it for me. Of course, in theory, I should be out walking in my lovely neighborhood, but I find it much easier to read about other people’s walks. 😉
    I’ve not been on the internet lately, so missed that your blog had changed to a new format. Yea! Now I can leave you comments. 🙂

Leave a Reply

