August holidays

I can’t believe it is already August – the final third of summer in my patent system of seasons – with autumn days upon us in just a month’s time.  Usually someone has mentioned the fact that the "nights are  drawing in" by now – but not this year… so far.  Personally, I have noticed that the mornings are drawing in – or rather, 5 o’clock was still dark yesterday, whereas dawn was already breaking at 4.15 only a week or three ago.

In the garden everything has settled down after its mad spurt in May, doldrums at the end of June and then another mad flurry of growth in mid-July.  Maybe we can relax a little.  I sampled my first tomato yesterday.  Delicious – but all the rest are still green.  We have enjoyed the strawberry harvest and the first raspberry harvest (more in the autumn) and I have even managed to grow some decent parsley this year.  As a very inadequate gardener, I feel quite proud of these less than wonderful achievements!

So, the holiday season is upon us.  News broadcasts begin to include increasingly silly items and we all await announcement of the first hosepipe ban.
Round this part of the world children are still enjoying their freedom and don’t appear to be bored yet.

After a ridiculously busy June and July (in which trainers and vitamin supplements were necessary for OV and OVW to keep going) we are looking forward to slowing down a bit and enjoying some ‘down time’.  A huge pile of books is building up in the TBR pile – some fiction and a lot of non-fiction as I research  for the next writing project. – so I shall not be in lack of something to do.  Right now domestic chores beckon.  Maybe I’ll be back to tell you about the ‘new’ family member, whose portrait hangs temporarily upon our stairs.  His inscrutable stare galvanizes me into activity. But more of that anon.

 

About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

