Passing through!

The holiday-making junior department passed through a week ago, en route for the North (+ our car). Then half of the afore-mentioned duo returned the car on Saturday (having jettisoned his brother in Bristol), before climbing into a hot train for the long meander back to Oxford yesterday.  They seem to have had a good/crazy time and the weather was moderately kind to them.
We have been baking here in Somerset.  The plants are all beginning to look a little stressed and the rain that fell during the last 2 nights was only enough to whet their appetites – so the watering on pots and veg goes on.  I notice that several trees around us are beginning to shed a few leaves – I hope we get a proper wetting soon, to spare the rest – but not before the washing has been done and dried!

World cup fever is over, so we may get a bit of sense out of people before the next big sporting event (about 5 minutes then.)
I take little notice of such things, not really having much interest in sport (confession) so I was among the small number of people who escaped the footie and , glued themselves to Top Gear for an hour last night (I know, the TG team are dreadful, but in such a comforting way – mcps are alive and well and all is right with their world… and it is quite funny.)

However, I watched enough of the match to be greatly relieved to see Spain win.  In primary schools around the world small boys copy what they see on television and ape the manners of their footballing heroes.  A win for the Netherlands would have seen carnage in playgrounds world-wide.  The behaviour of the Dutch team was appalling – do they not realise the responsibility they have to the young and impressionsable males (mostly) of the world?  They are paid huge fees  – the fines imposed for misbehaviour should be hugely increased and the funds raised should go to educating future players.

But enough of my soapbox!  I must change the beds and get the washing into the machine – ah the excitement of ‘the trivial round, the common task’ – then off to paint seascapes for a couple of hours…..

About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Passing through!

  1. Simon says:

    You’re much sterner about sport on here than when I’m looking for support! Not taking sides, I suppose… ;-)What’s an mcp? Not being sarcastic, I’m genuinely confused!

  2. Anne says:

    mcp = Male Chauvenist Pig – I’m glad you don’t know it Simon!

Leave a Reply

