Welcome

Welcome to all you folk who have hopped over here from stuck-in-a-book.  Having wrestled with the technology I have managed to access my blog to leave this welcome message on the mat.
All is in readiness for a great (joint) expedition to northern climes (well, north of Birmingham) – so if you see a parked car with one guy reading a book and the other doing a crossword puzzle, knock gently on the window and claim your reward with the words "You are stuck-in-a-book and I claim my free paperback"  If you get the wrong car…. well, just don’t mention that you read it here 🙂

An influx of hungry men = an empty bread bin.  That’s how I discovered my bread-maker has died – so we just had to have a cream tea instead.  (At least I now know what to ask for for my birthday.) Fortunately there was just enough icing sugar left to ice the cakes.  Off to the shops again before said hungry men return at the end of the week. 

Your loss is my gain – so, much fun and games here before I wave off the expedition tomorrow.  OV has headed out to say evensong and that leaves me to martial the troops and try to organise the last minute packing loans.  Plenty of cake for emergency rations and bottled water to help survive any traffic jams – then they are off.

Surrounded by youth it makes me very aware of how quiet things are here the rest of the time.  I wonder why it is that I don’t get more done when there are no family distractions – time trickles away and is lost forever.
I was up really early this morning – you can’t sleep well with a trapped nerve in your leg – so I pootled over to the opposite side of the house and played with the internet as the sun woke the birds into a July dawn chorus.  Now the electricity board has removed the ugly transformer I have an uninterrupted view across the fields – but, of course, my chair faces the other way.

Life is often back to front.  I’ll make a special effort this week to get it going in the right direction!  I was reading about the Queen’s coronation, the other day, and discovered that her robe got caught on the pile if the carpet in Westminster Abbey because the carpet had been laid the wrong way.  "Get me going" (or something similar) is what she is reported to have said to the Archbishop, hoping for a helping hand.
Now, who is at hand to set me (and you) back on track?
Sail away!

About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

