Welcome to July

Here we are in July – May burst through all records regarding seasonal changes and June amazed us all here with her glorious weather and riots of colour in the garden.  Of course, after the first few days of sunshine everyone began to look troubled – no rain. We’re not used to it.  Late evening saw the beginning of the Big Watering, as people staggered around gardens nurturing veg plots with watering cans full of the precious contents of the water butts (which are now empty).  I spilt some water yesterday – nearly wept!
One day I spent a guilty hour or so weeding the strawberry patch and apologising to the plants for the usual neglect – then I watered them (none of the delicate sprinkling from a watering can – a well-aimed pail of water sloshed over the plants!) They have rewarded me ever since with a steady ‘flow’ of strawberries – just enough for OV and myself, augmented by shop bought ones when we have visitors.
Yesterday was very ‘Agatha Christie’ – a Church meeting here, with various clergy talking business around tables in the garden – near the rose arch that is really doing its stuff this year.  Then lunch for them (including the Archdeacon – to lunch, not for lunch!) This was then followed by a delightful garden party in the next village, where we nibbled elegant sandwiches and sipped tea, wandered – no, took a turn – about the beautiful garden, finishing off the event with wine from the vineyard and generous slices of delicious, home-made, strawberry gateau.
I then betook myself home and, as the sun dipped towards the horizon, dragged on my old clothes and hit the lawns with the semi-redundant lawn mower.  I am sure Agatha’s ‘ladies’ would have had sinister-looking gardeners (with shady pasts) to do this for them – but they wouldn’t have felt so virtuous at the end of a beautiful day!
The men from the electricity board amused themselves by continuing to sport with the wiring and the new telegraph poles.  I now have a new term to add to my (albeit limited) vocabulary: ‘hot-glove’.  I’m not sure it applied to them – the power kept going on and off, confusing the clock on the cooker and reminding me to remind OV to check the alarm clock before settling down to sleep.  I’m rather hoping it didn’t (apply to them) as I couldn’t bear the thought of seeing one of them explode up a pole!
This hot weather has obviously addled my brain.
Off to work soon – another tea party later… must fit in some housework at some point…. (Oh, I missed the u out of housework and had to go back and put it in – Freudian or what?)
Looks a bit like rain…
About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

