How amazing!

How amazing!  How amazing indeed!  Just when you think that you have got life taped it throws something new at you to send you hurtling off into a totally new direction!  Never say that you know all about life and that nothing more can surprise you – it just isn’t true.  In the past month I have discovered a relative who has taken over the name I left behind when I got married, and who looks amazingly like I did at her age.. how about that?  and, with the help of the internet (plus various other people) have uncovered a story of huge interest (to me at least) around the life of one of my ancestors.  Tell me I have been asked to take tea with the Queen next Tuesday and I’ll just incline my head graciously and say "could you just wait while I check my diary?" or some-such thing!

There are people who live so much of their life with their eyes downcast and their minds switched to automatic, that they miss much in life.  There are an increasing number of people who because they have a degree of intelligence, life experience and knowledge say that because they know one thing all other things are nonsense.  I say to them – no-one knows what tomorrow will bring.  No matter how clever you are you cannot plumb the depths or reach the heights of understanding.  Vanity has always been a besetting human sin and there is nothing quite so humbling as having your breath taken away by an event or a piece of knowledge and to become aware that this was a truth that was always there, all those years – I’d lived my life in ignorance of it and yet it was nevertheless true and it could have made my life quite different to know about it.
Ok, so my ‘truths’ are small fry compared with life, the universe and everything, but the principle is the same.  The human brain is limited, finite and finds it difficult to accept that there is something beyond its understanding.

My ‘amazing’ things this week are special to me and probably of little importance to anyone else – but they have split my world open in a way I could never have anticipated.  If nothing else, they tell me that I know very little and I live on an earth’s crust above a sea of unknowing.  But whilst the breeze blows gently and the sun shines, warming earth and blood, it is good to be alive and ready to move on with new understanding.
Oh, and some day I may let you into my secret!

About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

