One week in…

One week into Spring and we are all beginning to wonder what happened to it! The nights are cold and the wind has a cutting edge to it.  Church yesterday was distinctly chilly. 
But winter has loosened its hold in some ways: the birds are putting plenty of effort into their spring song.  The little dunnock keeps beating up every other male dunnock he can find – including his reflection in (latest count) 5 different windows AND the wing mirror on the car (fortunately with no apparent ill effects – except to the cleanliness of the windows!)
The vegetable patch is shrouded in frost every morning – I have the coldest aspect of the garden for veg – so see nothing until at least a month after everyone else!
However, the sun is up earlier each day and its refracted light (split by the edge of the mirror) sends several rainbows across my bedroom wall, lifting the spirits and putting bounce into my step.  I am even thinking about spring cleaning…. only thinking, don’t be alarmed!
The year is beginning to ‘open up’.  Plans (and preparations) are being made for Easter; a wedding in the next couple of weeks; a late spring holiday walking part of the coastal path (I’ll be driver and resident artist!) and many another outdoor activity is seizing the imagination.
It’s all a bit like the first night of the school holidays – do you remember? Home from school, the whole of the holiday stretched away into the distance and, like a still-wrapped chocolate bar, all its delights were still to be tasted – a glorious feeling.  The reality seldom lived up to the dream – and I fear that this year will turn once again into a battle between all the things I would like to do and the limitations of time, pressing duties and sheer physical fatigue.
But right now the wrapping is still on, the grass hasn’t started growing (enough to demand the mower) and I can still delude myself that this year will be different!
About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One week in…

  1. Mystica says:

    Coming from a hot and humid country where we are just praying for rain – even a little bit – I love the descriptive part of your post! specially the part about the sunshine. I came over from Stuck in a Book and am so glad I did. Will visit frequently.

  2. Anne says:

    Good to hear from you Mystica. Today there is brilliant sunshine and a ground frost. The pale blue sky and the very subtle appearance of green tips to tree branches are so exciting – that sense of something huge about to happen… but not quite yet!I do hope the rain comes to you soon. OVW

Leave a Reply

