Breakfast news

The Saturday breakfast was great fun.  We welcomed over 50 people and, even if the sun was reluctant to pop his head out from behind the clouds, there was plenty of laughter and ‘sunshine’ in the house.  Those in the garage ‘did their bit’ and managed to look as if it was normal to sit down to breakfast in a garage!  We raised £350 for the earthquake appeal (generous neighbours!) and we only have enough left-overs (in the freezer) to feed a few house-guests over the next weeks.  I don’t think we’ll be getting tired of croissants and I KNOW that I won’t weary of eating pain au chocolat – because every last one disappeared on the day!

When the children were small we occasionally did slightly crazy things – like eating a meal in a bizarre place e.g. on the floor under the dining table.  This ruse came in really handy when a proposed trip out had to be postponed because of pouring rain.  Stuck inside the house, toys ceased to engage interest and children needed a change of some sort, to rediscover their enthusiasm.  In those days I could easily slip under the table and lay out a table cloth, cutlery etc and serve a picnic on the floor.  I’m a bit stiffer these days – but I guess that I could still manage to improvise if need be.  How about sitting on the stairs, or a picnic basket + blanket in the loft? 

Or breakfast in the garage?

About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

