Winter

The new season is upon us in frost and rain – but enough dry days to help us retain hope!
I’ve been busily travelling all over the place for work – the car is now filmed in the muck and mire of both Somerset and Devon.  Meal times are once more taking on a ‘hot and sustaining’ quality (soup and a hot pudding tonight) and I have been sorting through the blanket shelf to find extra bedding to keep people’s feet warm.  Winter is suddenly upon us and Christmas is just around the corner.  Already I have been knee-deep in glue and fabric – oh, and children – exploring the Christmas story.  I’ve tasted my first mince pies of the season, dug out the Tiddlers’ Nativity costumes (some of which need ironing) and begun to make lists.
We are at that point where it is easy to think there is masses of time – when really there is little time to spare in preparing for the festivities to come.  The Good News domestically is that my nice new freezer has enough room for a bit of forward catering – so away I go!
I’ll try to pop back between all the madness – oh, and has anyone got some awful cracker jokes?

About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Winter

  1. Simon says:

    I bought mince pies in October… Made gingerbread biscuits today!And what am I having for Christmas dinner, then…

  2. Anne says:

    What do you fancy eating Simon? (The answer is Quorn roast btw!)

  3. Simon says:

    Oo, yes please! (Have you got one already?) x

Leave a Reply

