Flower and produce ‘show-off’

Well, here, as promised, the ‘glorious’ results of my very first foray into the world of competitive baking/needlecraft/floral torture – I mean ‘artistry’.  I am full of the glory (and the pain) but mostly surprise!
The pictures in the album (above) are
1. "Shades of White" (max 60 cm x 60 cm) to go on a window sill. (NB the authors/titles of the books are all on that theme)  2nd prize (2 in class!)
2."Beauty in a basket" (max 60 cm x 60 cm) Please note the (barely visible) mirror in the basket – designed to flatter the viewer… judges were not taken in: 2nd (2 in class – but the other got 3rd! Mine..apparently.. lacked sufficient flowers…so did my garden!)
3."Any other textile craft" (ie other than the scheduled classes) My picture is not of the local church – although many thought it was! 2nd prize – lots of entries – pipped by a beautiful piece of patchwork.
4."Petite" incorporating a small wine glass 15 cm x 15 cm max (no height restriction) 3rd prize.  I was very chuffed with that as it is a popular class and lots of ‘regulars’ enter it.
Then come the ignominious cakes – sunk without trace in highly competitive classes:  5.Somerset Apple Cake and 6. Victoria Sandwich. (We are eating the evidence!)
And last, but not least, 7. the "Foliage" entry (60 cm x 60 cm max) which came nowhere – but the others were a lot more restrained and controlled than my rather over-blown effort.
Since I did all my entries with flowers from my garden (+ 2 offerings from neighbours) and the odd bit from a nearby hedge, I feel my efforts were in the true spirit of rural charm.  My reaction to some of the judges’ comments were also in the fine tradition of the rural competition… and I shall mutter under my breath about one of them for quite a while!  However, the lady who beat me in two of the sections is so utterly charming and lovely that I cannot possibly stay grumpy for more than half a tick!
Plus, I was greatly amused to come 2nd with no 1st.  Beautiful isn’t it, this earnest marking?
Seriously though, Friday was a day spent very very happily in kitchen, garden and dining room (smothering the table with my ‘efforts’) and I loved it all.  Saturday morning was nervewracking, as I had no idea what I was doing when I took my contributions in.  The day was great fun too – Honey Pot was there with books for sale and fairtrade food on offer (one boy thought fairtrade meant free… tough luck lad!) I had a lovely time and met lots of interesting people, + the team and I raised £50 for Akamba Aid Fund – a local Kenyan-focused charity. Oh, and "Honey Pot Farm" had their stall next to ours – selling cider.  Well, I had to try some, in the interests of neighbourliness…… zzzzzzzzzzzz
About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

