Fairtrade & British Food Fortnight

Now, welcome all you browsers who did a Fairtrade search and landed on this blog!  This is not some kind of deception to lure you into my world – I am very busy at the moment, getting ready for the Norton and Chiselborough Flower and Produce Show where (apart from my having my first ‘go’ at entering some of the classes) I shall be organising a ‘Honey Pot’ stall – selling 2nd hand books and Fairtrade food.  I shall also be advertising the forthcoming ‘Locally Sourced and Fairtrade Breakfast’ which is not far off now – 19th September on the Rectory front drive.
 
Last year we served about 70 cooked breakfasts – wonderful local bacon and sausages and eggs + mushrooms and tomatoes from local growers, bread baked in the next village and gorgeous Fairtrade coffee and preserves – oh, and cereals and fruit juice for those who had room!  And the same will be produced this year – from 3 little camping stoves + the Rectory cooker. Yummy!
 
At the show on Saturday (August 15th) any money we raise will go to our local Kenyan charity – the ‘Akamba Aid Fund ‘(+ an opportunity for children to make a model African hut to collect pennies in when they have a bath or shower, to give to’ Wishing for a Well’ – another local charity working to bring fresh water to African villages. I took this activity to another fair 2 weeks ago – and had no punters – the rain fell steadily for all 4 hours of the event and my biggest sale was a raincoat to the fair organiser!)
The money raised at the breakfast in September will be split between ‘Farm Crisis Network’ – a charity working to support farmers in crisis – and an overseas aid project (still to be decided on by the Honey Pot committee). 
So, as you see, life is full of plans and plots – so the Rectory is in a muddle once more!  I sometimes wonder if I’ll ever have the place straight again!
 
For any of my (2) faithful readers who want to know how the Story Hut is going … the sad truth is that first the weather and then forgetfulness/lack of interest/holidays away/general lack of connection have combined to make it a class 1 flop.  Sad, but true.  I have had 2 lovely sessions with a dear little 2 year old and her mum – we enjoyed stories and makes and washing doll’s clothes, and it was such fun.  Lots of people have said ‘oh what a good idea’ and quite a few have said ‘I’ll try and come’ but between the word and the deed there is a ‘chasm uncrossable’.  Disappointing – but I can only suppose that local children are so busy and happy doing their own thing that the facility just isn’t needed.  There are still 2 weeks to go, so maybe a few stragglers will wander in before the end.
I had a real ‘tingle’ about it – but I guess it just didn’t catch on.  Maybe next year…..
 
So, keep smiling through the showers – we are turning into Camelot down here in Somerset – the heavy rain fell in the night last night and we have woken to a sunny day!
I hope you like the picture – it is from the Farm Crisis Network album.  Thanks FCN.
About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

