Today’s the day

Yes, today’s the day!  The day the Kenyan Hut was to come into its own.  The first day of the ‘Story Hut’.  The idea is simple: we have a beautiful (if leaky) ‘Kenyan Hut’ in our front garden. It is a lovely place to be – I have coaxed the ‘Honey Potters’ in on Saturday mornings and they love it!  We also have a number of children in the villages who are about to be ‘at a loose end’ and are looking for things to do.  I love stories.  Children love stories.  Simple.  Put the two together and create a ‘Story Hut’ on Tuesday and Wednesday afternoons from 2.00 – 3.00.  ‘Tinies’ will have their stories first – for 20 minutes (including a game or activity) and then the older children will have the rest of the time for their stories + an activity of some sort.
I was all ready at 2.00.  The books were in place and the activities sorted.
Just one problem.
It hadn’t stopped raining since early morning.  Rain rain everywhere.  Not very Kenyan really.  And not in the leaky hut.  I sat in the open garage for half an hour in case someone sploshed by in their wellies, hoping that something would happen today.  I’d have invited them in for a tour of the children’s book shelves and read them a story or two – just for braving the weather – but they had more sense and stayed at home!
It was a good thing I was there.  As the flood came over the ledge at the front of the garage I was able to sweep the water away and down the (conveniently uphill) drain. And I managed to prepare an activity for the summer fete in 2 weeks’ time.  So it was not wasted time
Funny really.  The ‘Story Hut’ has had the same ‘tingle’ as Honey Pot did before it started.  I am excited about it and looking forward to seeing what happens when you put children together with an idea they can shape.
And, do you remember, when I started the Honey Pot, the second day it opened the heavens dumped about a month’s rain on us?!
So, am I down-hearted?  Not in the least!  I’m looking forward to seeing what happens next!
Oh, and just to give you all a change of scene I’ll try to put up some pictures I took in Shropshire a couple of weeks ago.
Now for a cup of tea.
About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Today’s the day

  1. Simon says:

    Oh dear rain! How’s it been going from then on? Simonx

Leave a Reply

