June – and not a tennis ball in sight

So, the rabbit is not yet beaten, but my vegetables are so far protected.  I have harvested a grand total of 4 strawberries from the strawberry patch and am beginning to eat my way through the marjoram (although I find there is a definite limit to how much green stuff one can eat!)
The weather has been gorgeous and I find myself slipping into a mediterranean lifestyle – up early, getting a lot done before the heat of the day.  Then a sort of siesta – a cool quiet spot anyway (if I can manage it) followed by the evening meal and a period of cool in which I water the newly-planted vegetables and generally keep an eye on the garden.  I am making a list of garden chores – but they can wait until it’s a bit cooler and I am a little less busy!
It is a joy to hear the chatter of the swallows in the porch – busy feeding their young from early morning.  Then there’s the pond – with its army of frogs that set out to clear the garden of pests each day and can be found lurking near the water butt or slipping back to the pond for a quick dip.  The blackbirds are cannily nurturing a brood in the bay tree, coming and going on silent wings and keeping their glorious song for a different part of the garden, thus confusing the buzzard and sparrowhawk and magpies.
I’m off out now to enjoy it.  See you!
About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

