Spring?

Well, we are a week in to my spring, and the weather has been throwing just about everything at us, so clearly it hasn’t realised that it should be spring-like.  I am sure there as a saying – something like "in like a lion, out like a lamb" but I have a sneaking feeling that it refers to April rather than March – for which I can only think of "Butting through the channel in the mad March days" – dear old "Dirty British coaster".
I have faced hailstones, storm & tempest, a blizzard and a sun spot this week – all while I was away enjoying myself at a literary festival at Keswick "Words by the Water" – what a delight!  It was such fun to drive up the M5 and M6, stopping off to visit friends on the way and then spending a few days enjoying literary escapades with my dear Cumbrian friend.  Then it was back to work here in Somerset feeling refreshed and renewed, and with a short story well on the way to completion.  What joy!
So now comes the juggling act between the urgent desire to continue the creativity stoked by the literary fires of Keswick, and dealing with the very pressing needs of a house overdue for spring-cleaning.
How many others are facing a similar tensions?
"Hang spring cleaning" (The Mole) and head for the river bank (probably the only bank still worth your investment!)
About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spring?

  1. Simon says:

    I like the new look on the blog! Very Spring-like. We have daffodils in the living room, which is achieving much the same thing.Simon

  2. Nancy.B.T.MA says:

    Tell us more about the short story, please… 🙂

Leave a Reply

