the etiquette of ironing

Now ironing is something that goes on in many houses.  Where there are teenagers and the task has been subcontracted out i.e. do your own, it is what might be called an endangered species of house work.
OV and I have a fairly relaxed approach to the task and don’t become too distraught if it gets overlooked.  It is a simple matter to pull out the ironing board and do a bit of emergency ironing ahead of having time for the whole task.  However, on a day like today when I have wrestled with cupboard sorting, guest bed making-up and 101 other ‘do-it-on-the-way’ jobs, I am feeling weary.  I know I ought to get stuck in and do the lot – after all, I’ve set today aside to catch up on such tasks, and OV still has a cold and can’t be relied on to do his own shirts – but….
The thing is, can I sit down to iron?  I was brought up in the ‘stand to attention and show no weakness’ style of ironing, so am overwhelmed with guilt if I so much as think of a chair.
So, how about it folks?  What is the right approach – what wins, ankles or history?
Ah, finished my cuppa.  Must ‘bite the bullet.’
About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to the etiquette of ironing

  1. Unknown says:

    I have tried to sit on a high chair while ironing but it doesn’t work for me – it’s not a question of quilt or tradition, I simply can’t iron while sitting. So why not try it, if it doesn’t work forget about it, grab a book and put your feet up – that works every time!
    Margaretha

  2. Simon says:

    Ironing whilst sitting down?  Surely impossible! (Now I’ve said that, I’m sure you’ll try to find a way of doing it).  I tend to iron in front of the TV which is much more fun.

Leave a Reply

