Halfway through Autumn

It’s just over half way through ‘my’ Autumn and time to reflect on how it is going.
The apples are half-harvested and we are beginning to consume them. (Today’s version was a delicious dessert made with apples and sponge mixture, cooked in the oven and served with ice cream – all very soothing for OV who has a nasty cold.)
Much of the Autumn Tidy Up in the garden is complete (thanks to R, the gardener) and there are plans to buy and construct a garden shed so that all the paraphenalia of gardening is out from under our feet + I may even have a place to do some of the work – or slope off and hide in when I don’t want to look at the housework! (Sheds are famous for being places where men hide from ‘the wife’ – is there also a place in social history for the wife using it as a refuge?)
I haven’t had much opportunity for going on a leaf-crunching, conker-collecting walk – although I did have a rather soggy trek across the fields to buy bread and milk the other day – and was glad to accept the offer of a lift home when it came on to rain.
I have been very busy, one way or another, with a charity I do some work for – I have just come to the end of a busy run on that.  Now I must focus on preparations for a number of visitors coming to stay in the next couple of weeks.
‘Hospitality polishes the pots’ goes the old saying – but in my case it had better do a lot more than that! I’ve a bathroom to fnish decorating, the house to clean thoroughly (don’t ask about the dust) and cupboards to sort through before doing a big food shop.  Maybe I will hit all those Autumn targets… just.  I’ve also taken time out to sit down and have a snooze when needed, in true dormouse fashion, and, looking at my watch, I see that it just about time to go and cook up something tasty to go with our afternoon cup of tea – before venturing out into a cold church for an evening service. (Brrr!)
We still haven’t softened and put on the heating – although I must confess the electric fire has been on today – because of OV’s cold of course!
Must look up a few recipes for stews and seasonal vegetable dishes.
Mmm Autumn’s tasty!
About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

