seasonal arrangement

Seasonal arrangement – now by that I mean arranging the seasons, rather than dashing out and buying mistletoe etc.  For a while now I have felt that my life could be organised better. For too long I have lived each year in three terms with a long holiday in the summer to renew the batteries – except that each year that holiday has become more and more eaten into.

So this autumn I put my foot down, so to speak, and began to sort my life into 4 seasons.  I sat down with a large piece of paper and drew out what my life would look like under this new regime.  And thus I arrived at the 4 season year.

Now, I know this isn’t rocket science and I have a feeling that Someone might have thought of this ahead of me, but… here goes.

Autumn = September, October and November.  It includes the warm fragile days of St Martin’s little summer and ends in the foggy chill of November.  In between I discover the delights of apple pie, blackberrying and putting on the extra duvet.

Then Winter =  December (incl Christmas), January cold, February bleakness ansd yippee – it’s over!

Spring starts on March 1st – albeit cold and nasty – but full of seed catalogues! April (Easter) May – longer evenings and spring walks and then… yes, it’ll be summer! Summer is June (strawberries) July (seaside) and August – relax a bit… and then back to Autumn again.  How can one suffer from SAD in winter if it is over in the 8 weeks after Christmas?  How can one become exhausted by life if one tries to make a balance in each season? (PLEASE don’t write in with lists of garden chores!)

So, each 3 months should be a mixture of work, play, achievement and chilling out – and because it’s only about 12 weeks one can work out how one is doing at any point.

I did a September audit at the weekend and reckon that I am behind on some things and ahead on others.  It’s been a very busy month, so high on the list for the next 4 weeks is Make Time for Yourself.

The garden is snapping at my heels, but the voluntary work is also shouting loudly.  Creativity is a bit on the low side and (yes all you friends who keep asking about the book) I am still not getting on with the writing.  However, the attic is sorted and some of the other cupboards are not as embarassing as they were.  The 4 day literary escapade (I’ll tell you more about it some time) was delightful fun.  The clear-up afterwards made for another lot of lists – especially as it was followed closely by a charity breakfast on the front drive!

As for the dead rat in the log pile – most of it has gone (thanks to OV) but not all (also thanks to OV).  You can’t have everything.

If there is anyone else out there who fancies having a go at living seasonally, then I’d love to hear how it works for you.

As for me, I’m into the 2nd third of my Autumn tomorrow, so watch me with the apples!

 

About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

