June Blues

Have you noticed just how vibrant the June colours are – particularly the blues? Summer is still ‘new’ and the dust of July and August is still to come. On my sick bed (again) I was idling away an hour watching an episode of the tv series Coast, where Alice analysed the special qualities of the light at St Ives… blue, blue, blue.  Glorious. In my ‘Summer cold blues’ I have had plenty of time to think.  Awake in the night, listening to the foxes hunting and watching the shadowy forms of trees and cattle emerging in the secret pre-dawn light, the poetic was not far away.
On Raasay I discovered the wonderful healing of the blue sea and sky, the far distances and the seemingly ageless hills.  O blues  – both hurting and healing.  So, if you have an hour to spare, seize the moment and don’t miss out on the blues.  Find a place where you can look up into the fathomless blue of a June sky and devour it, absorb it, consume it and fill your mind with its enormity and depth.  We spend too much of our lives with our eyes cast down.  Look up. (But not at the sun of course!)
This done, you will have stored up a little ‘blue’ with which to fight the winter blues if, or when, they come.  Enjoy!
About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to June Blues

  1. Simon says:

    I took myself to the top of South Parks yesterday evening, and realised that it was the first time for ages that I’d properly seen expanses of sky.  In flat, flat Oxford, you can only see the sky by looking up – up the hill of South Parks I could see miles.  Breathtaking.

Leave a Reply

