Now, where was I?

Ah, the answer to that is – the island of Raasay off the west coast of Scotland, just north of Skye!
My expedition began at an early hour on a Somerset station platform wondering why I had such a heavy suitcase (and ended at the same station – same suitcase, but with a broken handle – it just had to contain my heavy walking boots – and that fruit cake wasn’t really so very heavy!)
In between I spent a couple of days at Glenelg (map books out folks!) and the best part of a week on the island of Raasay, followed by a little gentle ‘cat-sitting’ in Cumbria.
Scotland put on its best show – apart from a downpour on our first morning there – we woke to it, fearing the holiday would be a saturated one – then, by the end of our excellent B&B breakfast the sun had come out, to stay with us for the rest of the week.
Highlights of the week: 
1  the ferry crossing from Glenelg to Skye – manned by three delightful characters (including a ‘mobile sawmill’ operator!) accompanied in the water by a group of seals and met by a wild otter.
2  the welcome at the Glenelg B&B + the delightful litter of puppies just ready to find homes
3  the brochs (look it up!)
4  Calum’s road on Raasay – the courage and determination of one man
5  miles of solitary footpaths
6  good food and good company – oh, and at the end of each day, hot showers and comfortable beds!
7  flying (and other) pigs, lambs and other wildlife
8  rugged coastlines
9  deep blue sea, so clear you could see deep down to the bottom near the rocks
10 clear blue skies and huge distances – upon which to gaze and gaze
 
So Anne, what did you do?  I walked and wandered and gazed and drank in the beauty.  I laughed and chatted and enjoyed the company of both friend and stranger.  I did a very little sketching (blame the midges).  I allowed the place to repair me. I set no targets.  I listened and I watched.
When did you last do the same?
About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Now, where was I?

  1. Colin says:

    Flying pigs?Sounds like you had a lovely time north of the border.

  2. Simon says:

    Tres jealous!  Have you seen my paintings yet?  (Look up the entry called ‘Daubings’)I’ve tagged you for a meme!  Sounds painful, doesn’t it… can be found here: http://stuck-in-a-book.blogspot.com/2008/05/playing-favourites.html

Leave a Reply

