Glory!

What a glorious morning!  You find me swigging coffee between doing battle with a hazel hedge and setting to on the next layer of hazel-weaving on the African hut.  Guess what?  I’m finding even more muscles that I don’t usually use!
Cutting the hazel was quite a task – you never have a bill hook when you want one, do you? Having fallen in the ditch enough times to prove that I wasn’t chicken, I headed home with sticks projecting from the back of the car and a cutting device endangering my left ear.  Ah the joys of country living!  Mind you, watching the livestock on various small-holdings being expertly cared for and just enjoying the morning, was a calming and healing experience.  I wonder if hazel-weaving will have the same effect?
Let you know later – maybe with an up-dated photo or two.
About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Glory!

  1. Technogran says:

    Good to see that you won the battle with the hazel hedge! Yes do let us know how you got on with the hazel-weaving won’t you?

  2. Simon says:

    Lorks.Mel wants to come down and give you a hand…And what on earth is a bill hook?  I might have had one all this time, and not known.Sxx

  3. Nancy.B.T.MA says:

     I thought of you today while waiting for an appointment and reading a magazine.  Your gardening and other outdoor life was brought to mind by this Margaret Atwood quote:   "In the spring, at the end of the day, you should smell like dirt."    Hope your dirt is good-smelling!  🙂   Nancy 

  4. Anne says:

    Thanks for the thought Nancy. I don’t know whether my dirt is sweet smelling or not – hard to say as parts of England disappear under an evil smelling blanket of polution from mainland Europe – and I just thought the farmer had been muck-spreading!
    The African hut progresses – photos soon.

Leave a Reply

