Spring is sprung – where is that lawn mower?

Yesterday I sat in the garden!
Yes, SAT!
The sun was so hot that I toyed with the idea of finding my hat!  (Then didn’t bother)
I wasn’t just being idle – I was actually doing some paperwork – and I even did some weeding later on.  I won the battle with a particularly annoying bramble by the pond. I even managed to fall over AWAY from the pond, rather than INTO it! 🙂
Later, my friend Snowy came to play. Snowy is a dog who isn’t used to ‘visiting’, so this was a process of introducing him to the fun of exploring another garden.  He did a very good line in drinking the pond – avoiding the frogspawn.  Talent. I think he enjoyed the experience and I hope his dreams were not too hectic.  I’ll ring his ‘people’ later today to ask after his health.
After Stuck-in-a-book’s spring clean of the Honey Pot’s shelves, followed by a trip to a charity book store to pass the books on, I now have a steady trickle of people ringing up and turning up with boxes and bags of books to replace them.  Spring cleaning is washing a new tide of flotsam, in the shape of books, out of the house and into the Honey Pot.  Never mind – it’s good to see new titles and it will soon be that time of year when people descend on me to buy books to take away on holiday (and leave there – or wreck on a beach somewhere in the world.) 
I once heard a backpacker waxing lyrical on the role of the cheap paperback as both entertainment and toilet paper.  Mmm.  Too much information!
Anyway, I’ll leave you with a couple of photos – one of the pond (in earlier times) – scene of my near-plunge, and one of the Honey Pot – to tempt you out to buy some books. The photos are out of date – but you get the idea!  The bookshelves, empty in the photo, are crammed full of books now!Img0192Img0514
About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spring is sprung – where is that lawn mower?

  1. Simon says:

    I remember when the shelves looked like that!  I wondered if they’d ever be filled… fool that I was…   well, I’m doing my best to empty them!

Leave a Reply

