laminated Good Friday

A strange title – but then life in the Rectory is strange at this time of year.  You can’t get into the dining room for the piles of boxes labelled Puppet Show, Dress the Doll, Palms, Hands and Stars, Passover Tasters, Egg Decorating etc etc. (Good Friday children’s activities) The sitting room is a mass of lists, labels and laminations.  The kitchen has stacks of ingredients and lists of shopping and things to do.  How to get 6 dozen hot cross buns buttered ready for consumption (at the Rectory) by people who have been up the hill for the hilltop service, whilst being up there myself; how to ready the hall for the children’s activities and remember to bring everything on the first trip + what to do at the end if it is raining – are questions buzzing round my head.  Then there is ‘will anyone turn up?’ and ‘will too many people turn up?’
You can’t win.  It is the creative chaos we call Easter and the one thing I know is that fretting does no good – just ‘chill’ as they say – and remember that, no matter what happens on Friday, Sunday is not far behind and we can truly celebrate then (and eat chocolate again… yippee!)
Oh, and I believe that it is a Christian Religious Festival too!
About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to laminated Good Friday

  1. Simon says:

    I look forward to coming and joining the chaos tomorrow!  I do pick my moments…

Leave a Reply

