More Wind in the Willows

Another crisp frosty morning with bright sunshine and blue skies.  Lovely.  Spring cleaning is upon me and I am attacking one room at a time (well, that’s the plan anyway!)
Someone pointed out to me that this is the time of year when the badgers get really busy clearing out their setts.  OV and I took a walk on Sunday afternoon (to stretch cramped muscles – too much being glued to computers I guess) and carried the camera with us.  We became so engrossed in conversation that we forgot to take many photos – in fact, we ended up with just the one – of some late snowdrops.  I must get out and about snapping the daffodils before they finish flowering.
Our informant was right – everywhere there was evidence of an extra-thorough clear-out by the bagers.  Now badgers are either loved or loathed around here, depending on whether they visit your garden or not.  I guess the same is true for the rabbits and the deer.  Speaking of which, returning home, having been to the local am dram production of Oklahoma (plenty of umph!) we disturbed about six or seven deer on the top of the hill – the most I’ve seen together.  And then, as we approached home, a badger shot across the road.  I now understand why there are so many badger road kills round here.  I had only ever encountered badgers as sort of bumbling old men, tootling along at a measured pace.  This one was in training for the olympics!  Whizz – and he was gone.  If we had been 4 or 5 seconds ahead of ourselves (so to speak) we could not have avoided hitting him.  So it’s a gold medal for that young badger – and he lives to fight another day.
The foxes were out last night too – but that is another story.
Oh, Hang spring-cleaning – I’m going to walk over the hill to the Fairtrade coffee morning! 
About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to More Wind in the Willows

  1. Simon says:

    I want to be there!!  The best I get is the odd cat.  Did hear some nice birds yesterday, though.. and can always go to Magdalen to see rather more predictable deer.Hope Dad controlled himself at Oklahoma…

Leave a Reply

