Epiphany

Epiphany (Our Vicar tells us) is not so much a day, as a season. In the same way that Christmas is a twelve day period rather than a single day – or, as the marketing people would have us believe, a period of spending lying between August and the pre-Christmas sales.
For those of you who enjoy oddities, technically Christmas (and Epiphany) ends at Candlemas and Lent begins at Ash Wednesday, so this year one could say that there are only 3 days between Christmas and Easter!  For those of you who are 50+, you thought that was the case anyway!
Dear Mel has been with us again, poking fun at our rural revels and bringing her urban wit to keep us on our toes. How she loves celebrating Epiphany (which is our domestic excuse for entertaining the PCC members and their husbands/wives to a party at the Rectory + using up all the Christmas nibbles and calorific treats) and Wassailing – which she still can’t quite get her head around.  This last is an opportunity for a get-together down on the apple farm (cider apples of course) with music, bonfire, food, mulled cider and blessings upon this year’s crop. I note that Mel is happy enough to borrow a pair of my wellies to go down there and tramp around in the rain – spurn not the hospitality of the yokel – is her watchword!
Seriously, with all the illness this year it was great to have Mel’s helping hand and cheerful face to make the party go with a swing.  We are sadly quiet now everyone has gone.
So many people are ill right now – so if you are one of them, I do hope that you soon feel better.  Perhaps a little gentle sleuthing on the subject of Wassailing (on the net) could fill an idle hour.
I suppose I ought to go shopping now – or there will be nothing for supper. A least I don’t have to follow a star!
About apthomas

I love books, reading, writing, baking, chocolate, painting, sewing, people and fairtrade - not necessarily in that order. I am a lazy gardener - who loves the garden, and a lazy housewife who likes the place to be warm and welcoming. I live in beautiful Somerset. I am enslaved by Sherpa-the-cat. Saturday mornings find me 'playing shop' in the Honey Pot - a second hand bookshop, run from my garage, where along with the books you'll find fun, friendship and refreshments - all in a good cause.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Epiphany

  1. mel says:

    I’m sorry I couldn’t bring wellies on the train!Thankyou and don’t mention it; never happier than when singing to inanimate objects, making industrial amounts of tea, or bickering with your dear son.If anyone wants to join in the spirit of wassailing, it’s not too late, I have written up a genuine song on my page for you to sing around your Tescos apples. x

  2. Anne says:

    Dear Mel – I’m ALWAYS happy to share my wellies – especially if it gets me out of standing in a draughty field in the rain! Anne

Leave a Reply

